Truss, Chief Engineer (Unfinity #272)

Truss, Chief Engineer {U}{B}

Legendary Creature — Vedalken Rogue Employee

Whenever Truss, Chief Engineer enters the battlefield or another creature dies, put a hack counter on Truss.

{2}, {T}, Remove X hack counters from Truss: Add or subtract X from a number or number word on target spell or permanent until end of turn. This effect can’t reduce a number below 1 or a number word below one.


Watermark: Set Symbol

Illustrated by Scooter

Notes and Rules Information for Truss, Chief Engineer:
  • Truss’s last ability affects a single number or number word on the spell or permanent. It can be anything—power, toughness, something in rules text, the name of a card (Four Wishes, anyone?), collector number, and so on. Mark says you can even change the copyright date, but don’t tell the lawyers. (2022-10-07)
  • Note that you’re changing numbers, not digits. For example, if you remove two hack counters from Truss, you could change 10 to 12 or 8. You couldn’t change it to 30. (2022-10-07)
  • Indefinite articles such as “a” in “draw a card” aren’t number words and can’t be modified. (2022-10-07)
  • You can’t change any instance of X. (2022-10-07)
  • You can change the numeral inside of a mana symbol, but you can’t modify the cost of a spell in time to pay less for it. It must already be on the stack to be a valid target for Truss’s ability. (2022-10-07)
  • You can change the number of dice rolled for an effect only if the original instruction included a number word to describe how many dice to roll. You can’t change the “a” in “roll a six-sided die,” but you could change the “two” in “roll two six-sided dice.” (2022-10-07)
  • You can change the number of sides on a die. If you don’t have any thirteen-sided dice handy, you can use other dice to simulate the rolls. (2022-10-07)
  • You can’t use Truss’s last ability to change the 1 in Truss’s last ability to a 0. Nice try though. (2022-10-07)