Flicker {1}{W}

Sorcery

Exile target nontoken permanent, then return it to the battlefield under its owner’s control.

Who is truer: you who are, or you who are to be?

Illustrated by Douglas Shuler

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Flicker:
  • This spell effectively “resets” the permanent to being just like it was freshly cast. All counters, Auras, effects, and so on are removed when it is exiled. Then it comes back onto the battlefield like new. (2005-08-01)
  • It will trigger “enters the battlefield” abilities and “leaves the battlefield” abilities. Note that the card does not go to the graveyard, so it will not trigger “goes to the graveyard” abilities. (2004-10-04)
  • This could be used to make the target of another spell or ability illegal if this wasn’t a sorcery (which makes it really hard to do that). This is because the Flickered permanent leaves the battlefield and then returns as a completely different permanent, and the targeted spell will not recognize it. (2004-10-04)