Thoughtseize {B}

Sorcery

Target player reveals their hand. You choose a nonland card from it. That player discards that card. You lose 2 life.

“Knowledge is such a burden. Release it. Release all your fears to me.”
—Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver

Illustrated by Lucas Graciano

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Thoughtseize:
  • The loss of life is part of the spell’s effect. It’s not an additional cost. If Thoughtseize doesn’t resolve, you won’t lose life. (2013-09-15)
  • If you target yourself with this spell, you must reveal your entire hand to the other players just as any other player would. (2014-02-01)