Valentin, Dean of the Vein {B}

Legendary Creature — Vampire Warlock

Menace, lifelink

If a nontoken creature an opponent controls would die, exile it instead. When you do, you may pay {2}. If you do, create a 1/1 black and green Pest creature token with “When this creature dies, you gain 1 life.”

1/1

Lisette, Dean of the Root {2}{G}{G}

Legendary Creature — Human Druid

Whenever you gain life, you may pay {1}. If you do, put a +1/+1 counter on each creature you control and those creatures gain trample until end of turn.

“Life is as fleeting as it is vibrant. Embrace the brief blessing of a flower before it withers.”

4/4

Watermark: Witherbloom

Illustrated by Jesper Ejsing

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Valentin, Dean of the Vein // Lisette, Dean of the Root:
  • If a nontoken creature an opponent controls would die, and both Valentin and another effect are trying to exile it instead, that opponent chooses which effect to apply. If Valentin’s effect ends up not applying because of this choice, the triggered ability that allows you to pay {2} won’t trigger, even if the creature card ends up in exile. (2021-04-16)
  • If you gain life at the same time a creature you control is dealt lethal damage, that creature dies before Lisette’s ability can put a +1/+1 counter on it. (2021-04-16)
  • An ability that triggers “whenever you gain life” triggers just once for each life-gaining event, no matter how much life you gain. (2021-04-16)
  • You may only pay {1} once for each life gain event. (2021-04-16)
  • Each creature with lifelink dealing combat damage causes a separate life-gaining event. For example, if two creatures you control with lifelink deal combat damage at the same time, a “whenever you gain life” ability will trigger twice. However, if a single creature you control with lifelink deals combat damage to multiple creatures, players, and/or planeswalkers at the same time (perhaps because it has trample or was blocked by more than one creature), the ability will trigger only once. (2021-04-16)
  • If you gain an amount of life “for each” of something, that life is gained as one event and the ability will trigger only once. (2021-04-16)