Liege of the Tangle {6}{G}{G}

Creature — Elemental

Trample

Whenever Liege of the Tangle deals combat damage to a player, you may choose any number of target lands you control and put an awakening counter on each of them. Each of those lands is an 8/8 green Elemental creature for as long as it has an awakening counter on it. They’re still lands.

8/8

Watermark: Mirran

Illustrated by Jason Chan

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Liege of the Tangle:
  • You may choose to target zero lands. (2011-01-01)
  • Whether a targeted land remains an 8/8 green Elemental creature depends only on whether it has an awakening counter on it, not on whether Liege of the Tangle is still on the battlefield. (2011-01-01)
  • If all awakening counters on a land are moved to a land without an awakening counter on it (perhaps by using Fate Transfer), the animation effect doesn’t follow them. The first land is no longer an 8/8 green Elemental creature because it no longer has an awakening counter on it. The second land isn’t an 8/8 green Elemental creature because Liege of the Tangle didn’t target it. (2011-01-01)