Pure Intentions {W}

Instant — Arcane

Whenever a spell or ability an opponent controls causes you to discard cards this turn, return those cards from your graveyard to your hand.

When a spell or ability an opponent controls causes you to discard Pure Intentions, return Pure Intentions from your graveyard to your hand at the beginning of the next end step.

Illustrated by Randy Gallegos

Standard
Brawl
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Pure Intentions:
  • The first part of Pure Intentions is the effect of casting Pure Intentions. The second part is a triggered ability that triggers whenever an opponent’s spell or ability causes a player to discard Pure Intentions. (2005-06-01)
  • Neither part cares who decides which card to discard — only the controller of the spell or ability matters. (2005-06-01)
  • Discarding Pure Intentions to your own spell or ability doesn’t trigger its abilities. (2005-06-01)
  • If a spell or ability an opponent controls causes a player to discard multiple cards, such as Waking Nightmare or Three Tragedies, Pure Intentions doesn’t return to hand until its triggered ability has resolved. A player can’t discard the same Pure Intentions twice for the same discard effect. (2005-06-01)