Compelling Deterrence {1}{U}

Instant

Return target nonland permanent to its owner’s hand. Then that player discards a card if you control a Zombie.

“So much for neighborly hospitality!”

Illustrated by Seb McKinnon

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Compelling Deterrence:
  • The card returned to its owner’s hand may be the card they discard. If it’s the only card in that player’s hand, it must be discarded. (2016-04-08)
  • Compelling Deterrence targets only the nonland permanent. If that permanent becomes an illegal target, Compelling Deterrence doesn’t resolve and that player doesn’t discard a card. (2016-04-08)
  • If you target the only Zombie you control with Compelling Deterrence, you won’t discard a card. (2016-04-08)