Essence Capture {U}{U}

Instant

Counter target creature spell. Put a +1/+1 counter on up to one target creature you control.

“It’s not enough to defeat our foes. W must learn from them, too.”
—Vannifar

Illustrated by Mathias Kollros

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Essence Capture:
  • You can’t cast Essence Capture without a target creature spell. If either target is illegal when Essence Capture tries to resolve, the other is still affected as appropriate. (2019-01-25)
  • A creature spell that can’t be countered is a legal target for Essence Capture. The spell won’t be countered when Essence Capture resolves, but you’ll still put a +1/+1 counter on the target creature. (2019-01-25)