Rise from the Grave {4}{B}

Sorcery

Put target creature card from a graveyard onto the battlefield under your control. That creature is a black Zombie in addition to its other colors and types.

“Death is no excuse for disobedience.”
—Liliana Vess

Illustrated by Thomas M. Baxa

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Rise from the Grave
  • Rise from the Grave doesn’t overwrite any previous colors or types. Rather, it adds another color and another subtype. (2009-10-01)
  • If the targeted creature is normally colorless, it will simply become black. It won’t be both black and colorless. (2009-10-01)
  • A later effect that changes the affected creature’s colors will overwrite that part of Rise from the Grave effect; the creature will be just the new color. The same is true about an effect that changes the affected creature’s types or subtypes. (2009-10-01)
  • A “creature card” is any card with the type creature, even if it has other types such as artifact, enchantment, or land. Older cards of type summon are also creature cards. (2009-10-01)