Harness the Storm (Shadows over Innistrad Promos #163s)

Harness the Storm {2}{R}


Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell from your hand, you may cast target card with the same name as that spell from your graveyard. (You still pay its costs.)

“There is no place like a rooftop laboratory in a lightning storm. It’s where genius strikes.”
—Renna, Selhoff alchemist

Illustrated by Raymond Swanland

Notes and Rules Information for Harness the Storm:
  • You must choose a target for Harness the Storm’s ability (if one exists) immediately after you’ve cast an instant or sorcery spell. There’s no way for that spell to be countered and then targeted by Harness the Storm once it’s in the graveyard. (2016-04-08)
  • You choose whether to cast the targeted card as the ability resolves. You can’t wait to cast it later, and there’s no way for your opponents to set up a situation where you have to cast the card but don’t want to. (2016-04-08)
  • If the spell you cast from your hand is countered in response to Harness the Storm’s triggered ability, you can still cast the target card while the ability is resolving. (2016-04-08)
  • Because you’re paying the spell’s costs, you can pay alternative costs, such as awaken costs and surge costs from the Battle for Zendikar block. You can also pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has a mandatory additional cost, like Lightning Axe, you must pay it to cast the card. (2016-04-08)
  • The spell you cast from your graveyard can target the spell you cast from your hand. (2016-04-08)
  • The spell you cast from your graveyard resolves before the spell you cast from your hand. It’s put into your graveyard as it resolves. (2016-04-08)