Dead Man's Chest {1}{B}

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature an opponent controls

When enchanted creature dies, exile cards equal to its power from the top of its owner’s library. You may cast nonland cards from among them for as long as they remain exiled, and you may spend mana as though it were mana of any type to cast those spells.

Illustrated by Jason A. Engle

Standard
Brawl
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Dead Man's Chest:
  • If you gain control of the enchanted creature, Dead Man’s Chest will be put into your graveyard. (2018-01-19)
  • If Dead Man’s Chest and the enchanted creature are both put into graveyards at the same time, the last ability of Dead Man’s Chest still triggers. (2018-01-19)
  • To determine how many cards to exile, use the enchanted creature’s power as it last existed on the battlefield. (2018-01-19)
  • You are a creature’s owner if the card representing it began the game in your deck, or if it’s a token that entered the battlefield under your control. If Dead Man’s Chest enchants a creature that you own but an opponent controls, you’ll exile cards from your library. (2018-01-19)
  • The effect of Dead Man’s Chest doesn’t change when you can cast the exiled cards. For example, if you exile a creature card without flash, you can cast it only during your main phase when the stack is empty. (2018-01-19)
  • Casting an exiled card causes it to leave exile. You can’t cast it multiple times. (2018-01-19)
  • In a multiplayer game, if a player leaves the game, all cards that player owns leave as well. If you leave the game, any spells or permanents you control from Dead Man’s Chest’s ability are exiled. (2018-01-19)