Magus of the Arena {4}{R}{R}

Creature — Human Wizard

{3}, {T}: Tap target creature you control and target creature of an opponent’s choice they control. Those creatures fight each other. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.)

The magus still hears the roar of the crowds. They’re gone, but the will to compete remains.

5/5

Illustrated by Thomas M. Baxa

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Magus of the Arena:
  • If either target leaves the battlefield before the ability resolves, the ability taps the remaining target, but no damage is dealt. If both targets leave the battlefield, the ability doesn’t resolve. (2007-02-01)
  • Magus of the Arena’s controller always chooses their creature first. (2007-02-01)
  • If an effect changes the targets of this ability, the second target can be changed to any creature the chosen opponent controls. The choice of opponent can’t be changed. (2007-02-01)
  • Tapped creatures can be targeted. Tapping them again will do nothing, but they’ll still deal damage. (2007-02-01)