Remorseless Punishment {3}{B}{B}

Sorcery

Target opponent loses 5 life unless that player discards two cards or sacrifices a creature or planeswalker. Repeat this process once.

“I have suffered a thousand lifetimes of agony on this wretched world. I’ve far less time to share with you, but I assure you, no less pain.” —Ob Nixilis

Illustrated by Ryan Barger

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Remorseless Punishment:
  • The same player chooses both times. In a multiplayer game, you can’t choose a different opponent to repeat the process. (2016-04-08)
  • The player can’t choose to discard two cards unless they have at least two cards in hand. Similarly, that player can’t choose to sacrifice a creature or planeswalker unless they control one. This means that if the target opponent doesn’t have two cards in hand and doesn’t control a creature or planeswalker, that player will lose 5 life and then lose 5 life again. (2016-01-22)
  • No player may take any actions between the two times the player goes through the process. (2016-01-22)
  • Any abilities that trigger while Remorseless Punishment is resolving will be put on the stack after it has completely resolved. (2016-01-22)