Nature Demands an Offering


When you set this scheme in motion, target opponent chooses a creature you don’t control and puts it on top of its owner’s library, then repeats this process for an artifact, an enchantment, and a land. Then the owner of each permanent chosen this way shuffles their library.

Illustrated by John Matson

Notes and Rules Information for Nature Demands an Offering:
  • The targeted opponent may choose a creature they control, or may choose a creature one of your other opponents controls. The same is true for each of the other permanent types listed. (2010-06-15)
  • The four permanents are put on top of their owners’ libraries in sequence. That means that a single artifact creature, for example, can’t be chosen as both the creature and as the artifact. (2010-06-15)
  • If there are no applicable choices for one of the permanent types, it’s simply skipped. The process is still repeated for the other listed permanent types. (2010-06-15)
  • If a player owns multiple permanents chosen this way, that player shuffles their library just once. (2010-06-15)
  • The owner of a token permanent chosen this way still shuffles their library, even though the token ceases to exist. (2010-06-15)
  • If one of the chosen permanents is controlled by an opponent but owned by you, you’ll wind up shuffling your library. (2010-06-15)