Confusion in the Ranks {3}{R}{R}

Enchantment

Whenever an artifact, creature, or enchantment enters the battlefield, its controller chooses target permanent another player controls that shares a card type with it. Exchange control of those permanents.

Illustrated by Ron Spencer

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Confusion in the Ranks:
  • The exchange isn’t optional. If there is a legal choice, you must make one. (2004-10-04)
  • The permanents have to share a permanent type both when the target is chosen and when the ability resolves. (2004-12-01)
  • Even though Confusion in the Ranks triggers only when an artifact, creature, or enchantment enters the battlefield, the ability can target a land if the permanent entering the battlefield is an artifact land. (2004-12-01)
  • The permanents are exchanged only if they’re both on the battlefield when the ability resolves. (2004-12-01)
  • Confusion in the Ranks triggers on itself entering the battlefield. If an opponent controls an enchantment, exchange Confusion in the Ranks for that enchantment. (2004-12-01)