Narcolepsy {1}{U}

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature

At the beginning of each upkeep, if enchanted creature is untapped, tap it.

“It’s so cute when it’s sleeping, isn’t it? Actually, it’s still as abhorrent as ever, but at least it’s not trying to kill us.” —Noyan Dar, Tazeem lullmage

Illustrated by Johann Bodin

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Narcolepsy:
  • Narcolepsy’s triggered ability has an “intervening ‘if’ clause.” That means (1) the ability triggers only if the enchanted creature is untapped as any player’s upkeep begins, and (2) the ability does nothing if the enchanted creature is already tapped by the time it resolves. (2010-06-15)
  • Narcolepsy doesn’t keep the enchanted creature continually tapped. The creature untaps during its controller’s untap step as normal, then is tapped when Narcolepsy’s ability resolves during that upkeep. The creature may be tapped in response (for example, if it has an activated ability with {T} in its cost). (2010-06-15)