Inexorable Tide {3}{U}{U}

Enchantment

Whenever you cast a spell, proliferate. (Choose any number of permanents and/or players, then give each another counter of each kind already there.)

“See how gratefully this world accepts our blessings.” —Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur

Illustrated by Dave Kendall

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Inexorable Tide:
  • You can choose any player that has a counter, including yourself. (2011-01-01)
  • You can choose any permanent that has a counter, including ones controlled by opponents. You can’t choose cards in any zone other than the battlefield, even if they have counters on them, such as suspended cards or a Lightning Storm on the stack. (2011-01-01)
  • You don’t have to choose every permanent or player that has a counter, only the ones you want to add another counter to. Since “any number” includes zero, you don’t have to choose any permanents at all, and you don’t have to choose any players at all. (2011-01-01)
  • If a permanent chosen this way has multiple kinds of counters on it, only a single new counter is put on that permanent. (2011-01-01)
  • Players can respond to the spell or ability whose effect includes proliferating. Once that spell or ability starts to resolve, however, and its controller chooses which permanents and players will get new counters, it’s too late for anyone to respond. (2011-01-01)
  • Whenever you cast a spell, Inexorable Tide’s ability triggers and goes on the stack on top of it. It will resolve (and you’ll proliferate) before the spell resolves. (2011-01-01)