Firestorm Phoenix {4}{R}{R}

Creature — Phoenix

Flying

If Firestorm Phoenix would die, return it to its owner’s hand instead. Until that player’s next turn, that player plays with that card revealed in their hand and can’t play it.

“The bird of wonder dies, the maiden phoenix,/ Her ashes new-create another heir/ As great in admiration as herself.”
—William Shakespeare, King Henry the Eighth

3/2

Illustrated by Jeff A. Menges

Part of the Reserved List

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Firestorm Phoenix:
  • It may not be cast again until your next turn, but it can be put onto the battlefield by other effects. (2004-10-04)
  • The “rebirth” is a replacement effect. (2004-10-04)
  • The Firestorm Phoenix you return to your hand is tracked by its ability. As long as it remains in your hand, that particular card can’t be played before your next turn begins, but a different Firestorm Phoenix in your hand can. (2009-10-01)