Clockwork Steed {4}

Artifact Creature — Horse

Clockwork Steed enters the battlefield with four +1/+0 counters on it.

Clockwork Steed can’t be blocked by artifact creatures.

At end of combat, if Clockwork Steed attacked or blocked this combat, remove a +1/+0 counter from it.

{X}, {T}: Put up to X +1/+0 counters on Clockwork Steed. This ability can’t cause the total number of +1/+0 counters on Clockwork Steed to be greater than four. Activate this ability only during your upkeep.


Illustrated by Terese Nielsen

Duel Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Clockwork Steed:
  • When Clockwork Steed’s last ability resolves, you can choose to put fewer than X +1/+0 counters on it. (2008-10-01)
  • If Clockwork Steed has four or fewer +1/+0 counters on it when its last ability resolves, it can wind up with a maximum of four such counters on it. If it has four or more +1/+0 counters on it, the ability will have no effect. (2008-10-01)
  • Loses a counter even if it is affected by a Fog-like effect which prevents it from dealing damage. (2004-10-04)
  • Can attack or block even if it has no counters. (2004-10-04)