Ensoul Artifact {1}{U}

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant artifact

Enchanted artifact is a creature with base power and toughness 5/5 in addition to its other types.

Too often, some self-described genius comes up with a “labor-saving device” that ends up creating far more work.

Illustrated by Jasper Sandner

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Ensoul Artifact:
  • The artifact retains any types, subtypes, or supertypes it has. Notably, if an Equipment becomes an artifact creature, it can’t be attached to another creature. If it was attached to a creature, it becomes unattached. (2014-07-18)
  • If the artifact was already a creature, its base power and toughness will each become 5. This overwrites any previous effects that set the creature’s base power and toughness to specific values. Any power- or toughness-setting effects that start to apply after Ensoul Artifact becomes attached to the artifact will overwrite this effect. (2014-07-18)
  • Effects that modify a creature’s power and/or toughness, such as the ones created by Titanic Growth or a +1/+1 counter, will apply to the creature no matter when they started to take effect. The same is true for any counters that change its power and/or toughness and effects that switch power and toughness. (2014-07-18)
  • The resulting artifact creature will be able to attack on your turn if it’s been under your control continuously since the turn began. That is, it doesn’t matter how long it’s been a creature, just how long it’s been on the battlefield. (2014-07-18)