Vampire Warlord {4}{B}

Creature — Vampire Warrior

Sacrifice another creature: Regenerate Vampire Warlord. (The next time this creature would be destroyed this turn, it isn’t. Instead tap it, remove all damage from it, and remove it from combat.)

“How can you serve me? By dying.”

4/2

Illustrated by Wesley Burt

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Vampire Warlord:
  • Activating Vampire Warlord’s ability causes a “regeneration shield” to be created for it. The next time that creature would be destroyed that turn, the regeneration shield is used up instead. This works only if the creature is dealt lethal damage, dealt damage from a source with deathtouch, or affected by a spell or ability that says to “destroy” it. Other effects that cause the creature to be put into the graveyard (such as reducing its toughness to 0 or sacrificing it) don’t destroy it, so regeneration won’t save it. If the regeneration shield isn’t used, it goes away as the turn ends. (2013-07-01)
  • To work, the regeneration shield must be created before Vampire Warlord is destroyed. This usually means activating its ability during the declare blockers step, or in response to a spell or ability that would destroy it. (2013-07-01)
  • If Vampire Warlord is dealt lethal damage and is dealt damage by a source with deathtouch during the same combat damage step, a single regeneration shield will save it. (2013-07-01)