Die Young {1}{B}

Sorcery

Choose target creature. You get {E}{E} (two energy counters), then you may pay any amount of {E}. The creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn for each {E} paid this way.

“When the time comes, let go. Nothing lasts forever.”

Illustrated by Ryan Yee

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Die Young
  • You can’t pay more energy counters than you have. (2017-02-09)
  • If an effect says you get one or more {E}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {E}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters. (2017-02-09)
  • Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters. (2017-02-09)
  • {E} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter. (2017-02-09)
  • Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.) (2017-02-09)
  • Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method. (2017-02-09)
  • If the target creature becomes an illegal target, Die Young doesn’t resolve and none of its effects happen. You won’t get {E}{E} or be able to pay any {E}. (2016-09-20)
  • You choose the target creature as you cast Die Young. You don’t choose how much {E} to pay until Die Young is resolving. No player may take actions between the time you choose how much {E} to pay and the time the creature gets -1/-1 for each {E} paid this way. (2016-09-20)