Collateral Damage {R}

Instant

As an additional cost to cast this spell, sacrifice a creature.

Collateral Damage deals 3 damage to any target.

It is much easier to create fire than to contain it.

Illustrated by Ryan Barger

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Collateral Damage:
  • If you sacrifice an attacking or blocking creature during the declare blockers step, it won’t deal combat damage. If you wait until the combat damage step, but that creature is dealt lethal damage, it’ll be destroyed before you get a chance to sacrifice it. (2014-11-24)
  • You must sacrifice exactly one creature to cast this spell; you can’t cast it without sacrificing a creature, and you can’t sacrifice additional creatures. (2014-11-24)
  • Players can respond to Collateral Damage only after it’s been cast and all its costs have been paid. No one can try to destroy the creature you sacrificed to stop you from casting this spell. (2014-11-24)