Nevermore {1}{W}{W}


As Nevermore enters the battlefield, choose a nonland card name.

Spells with the chosen name can’t be cast.

“By the law of Avacyn, the following thoughts, words, and deeds are henceforth disallowed.”

Illustrated by Jason A. Engle

Duel Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Nevermore:
  • No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Nevermore’s ability starts to work. (2011-09-22)
  • Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Nevermore enters the battlefield are not affected by Nevermore’s ability. (2011-09-22)
  • Although the named card can’t be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it’s a permanent card). (2011-09-22)
  • You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can’t be cast. The other half is unaffected. (2011-09-22)
  • If you want to name a double-faced card, remember to name the front face of that card. (The back face can’t be cast anyway.) (2011-09-22)
  • The named card can be cast again once Nevermore leaves the battlefield. (2011-09-22)