Nevermore {1}{W}{W}

Enchantment

As Nevermore enters the battlefield, choose a nonland card name.

Spells with the chosen name can’t be cast.

“By the law of Avacyn, the following thoughts, words, and deeds are henceforth disallowed.”

Illustrated by Jason A. Engle

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Nevermore:
  • No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Nevermore's ability starts to work. (2011-09-22)
  • Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Nevermore enters the battlefield are not affected by Nevermore's ability. (2011-09-22)
  • Although the named card can't be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it's a permanent card). (2011-09-22)
  • You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can't be cast. The other half is unaffected. (2011-09-22)
  • The named card can be cast again once Nevermore leaves the battlefield. (2011-09-22)
  • If you name one of the faces of a modal double-faced card, players may still play the face you didn't name. (Players can never cast the back face of a transforming double-faced card) (2021-03-19)