Dreams of the Dead {3}{U}

Enchantment

{1}{U}: Return target white or black creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. That creature gains “Cumulative upkeep {2}.” If the creature would leave the battlefield, exile it instead of putting it anywhere else. (At the beginning of its controller’s upkeep, that player puts an age counter on it, then sacrifices it unless they pay its upkeep cost for each age counter on it.)

Illustrated by Heather Hudson

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Dreams of the Dead:
  • This is a replacement effect. (2004-10-04)
  • If a creature returned to the battlefield with Dreams of the Dead would leave the battlefield for any reason, it’s exiled instead — unless the spell or ability that’s causing the creature to leave the battlefield is actually trying to exile it! In that case, it succeeds at exiling it. If it later returns the creature card to the battlefield (as Oblivion Ring or Flickerwisp might, for example), the creature card will return to the battlefield as a new object with no relation to its previous existence. (2008-10-01)
  • If a permanent has multiple instances of cumulative upkeep, each triggers separately. However, the age counters are not connected to any particular ability; each cumulative upkeep ability will count the total number of age counters on the permanent at the time that ability resolves. (2013-04-15)