Spell Rupture {1}{U}

Instant

Counter target spell unless its controller pays {X}, where X is the greatest power among creatures you control.

“Like water, mana will drain from an inferior vessel.”
—Jalan Tosk, Simic forcemage

Illustrated by Kev Walker

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Spell Rupture:
  • The value of X is the greatest power among creatures you control when Spell Rupture resolves. If you control no creatures at that time, X will be 0. The target spell’s controller can choose to pay {0} (simply by indicating they wish to do so). That player can also choose to not pay {0} and the spell will be countered. (2013-01-24)