Fade Away {2}{U}

Sorcery

For each creature, its controller sacrifices a permanent unless they pay {1}.

“Consider the fable of the greedy herder. As her flock grew, so did her weariness; she slept, and the sheep wandered off.” —Karn, silver golem

Illustrated by Jeff Miracola

Standard
Brawl
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Fade Away:
  • At the beginning of the resolution, each player counts up the number of creatures they control, then they make the required number of payments and/or sacrifices. The active player announces their choices first followed by the other players, but all the sacrifices are done at the same time. Because of this, you can’t sacrifice one creature in order to pay for another and thereby avoid payment for the first. (2004-10-04)
  • You can choose to pay some mana and sacrifice some permanents if you have more than one creature. (2004-10-04)
  • You can activate mana abilities during the resolution if you decide to pay mana. (2004-10-04)