Crumbling Ashes {1}{B}

Enchantment

At the beginning of your upkeep, destroy target creature with a -1/-1 counter on it.

“I was there to watch my brothers’ quenching. I drew the slightest warmth from their dying rage.” —Illulia of Nighthearth

Illustrated by Chuck Lukacs

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Crumbling Ashes:
  • This ability is mandatory. If you’re the only player who controls a creature with a -1/-1 counter on it as your upkeep begins, you must target one of your own creatures. (2008-08-01)
  • You can’t target a creature unless it already has a -1/-1 counter on it as your upkeep begins. Putting a -1/-1 counter on a creature during your upkeep won’t let Crumbling Ashes destroy it that turn. (2008-08-01)
  • If the targeted creature loses all its -1/-1 counters by the time the ability resolves, the ability won’t resolve because its only target is illegal. The creature won’t be destroyed. (2008-08-01)