Certain Death {5}{B}

Sorcery

Destroy target creature. Its controller loses 2 life and you gain 2 life.

Some spirits cling to one person, feasting on the growing fear until a final moment of all-consuming terror.

Illustrated by Kev Walker

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Certain Death
  • The targeted creature will have already left the battlefield before its controller loses 2 life and you gain 2 life. If it has any abilities that care about gaining or losing life, they won’t apply. (2016-07-13)
  • If the creature becomes an illegal target for Certain Death, no player gains or loses life. If it’s a legal target but isn’t destroyed, most likely due to having indestructible, its controller still loses 2 life and you gain 2 life. (2016-07-13)