Savage Alliance {2}{R}

Instant

Escalate {1} (Pay this cost for each mode chosen beyond the first.)

Choose one or more —

• Creatures target player controls gain trample until end of turn.

• Savage Alliance deals 2 damage to target creature.

• Savage Alliance deals 1 damage to each creature target opponent controls.

Illustrated by Johann Bodin

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Savage Alliance:
  • When determining how much damage a creature with trample may assign to the player or planeswalker it’s attacking, take into account damage that has already been dealt to the blocking creatures. For example, a 4/4 creature with trample blocked by a 4/4 creature with 2 damage marked on it may assign 2 damage to that creature and 2 damage to the defending player. (2016-07-13)
  • If you choose the second and third modes, and the targeted creature is controlled by the targeted opponent, that creature will take 2 plus 1 damage for a total of 3 damage. An ability that triggers whenever that creature is dealt damage will trigger twice. (2016-07-13)
  • You choose all of your modes at once. You can’t wait to perform one mode’s actions and then decide to choose more modes. (2016-07-13)
  • You can’t choose any one mode multiple times. (2016-07-13)
  • If two of the chosen modes of an escalate spell target a creature, you may choose the same creature for each mode’s target, or choose different creatures. The same is true if the chosen modes target a player (or opponent). (2016-07-13)
  • If one target of an escalate spell becomes illegal, the other targets will still be affected. If all of the targets become illegal, the spell won’t resolve. (2016-07-13)
  • Effects that reduce the cost of spells reduce the total cost, including any escalate costs added. (2016-07-13)
  • If an effect allows you to cast a spell that has escalate without paying its mana cost, you pay escalate costs for that spell if you choose more than one mode. (2016-07-13)
  • Additional costs don’t affect a spell’s converted mana cost. (2016-07-13)