Collective Defiance {1}{R}{R}


Escalate {1} (Pay this cost for each mode chosen beyond the first.)

Choose one or more —

• Target player discards all the cards in their hand, then draws that many cards.

• Collective Defiance deals 4 damage to target creature.

• Collective Defiance deals 3 damage to target opponent or planeswalker.

Illustrated by Kieran Yanner

Notes and Rules Information for Collective Defiance:
  • You choose all of your modes at once. You can’t wait to perform one mode’s actions and then decide to choose more modes. (2016-07-13)
  • You can’t choose any one mode multiple times. (2016-07-13)
  • If two of the chosen modes of an escalate spell target a creature, you may choose the same creature for each mode’s target, or choose different creatures. The same is true if the chosen modes target a player (or opponent). (2016-07-13)
  • If one target of an escalate spell becomes illegal, the other targets will still be affected. If all of the targets become illegal, the spell won’t resolve. (2016-07-13)
  • Effects that reduce the cost of spells reduce the total cost, including any escalate costs added. (2016-07-13)
  • If an effect allows you to cast a spell that has escalate without paying its mana cost, you pay escalate costs for that spell if you choose more than one mode. (2016-07-13)
  • Additional costs don’t affect a spell’s mana value. (2016-07-13)