Choose Your Demise

Scheme

When you set this scheme in motion, look at the top four cards of your library and separate them into a face-down pile and a face-up pile. An opponent chooses one of those piles. Put the cards in that pile into your hand and the rest on the bottom of your library in any order.

Illustrated by Nils Hamm

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Choose Your Demise
  • You choose one opponent to make the final choice of which pile is put into your hand, but all players may discuss and advise this choice. (2017-06-13)
  • You don’t have to reveal the cards in the face-down pile, no matter which zone they’re put into. Resist the urge to gloat at the heroes if their decision serves your master plan. (2017-06-13)
  • The split doesn’t have to be even. The piles can be split with a single card in one pile and three cards in another. A pile can even have zero cards in it—in this case, an opponent chooses whether to put all the cards into your hand or into your library. (2017-06-13)