Worms of the Earth {2}{B}{B}{B}

Enchantment

Players can’t play lands.

Lands can’t enter the battlefield.

At the beginning of each upkeep, any player may sacrifice two lands or have Worms of the Earth deal 5 damage to that player. If a player does either, destroy Worms of the Earth.

The ground collapsed, leaving nothing but the great Worms’ mucous residues.

Illustrated by Anson Maddocks

Part of the Reserved List

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Worms of the Earth:
  • If a permanent spell tries to enter the battlefield as a land during its resolution (for instance, a Clone entering the battlefield as a copy of a Dryad Arbor or an animated Mutavault), it is put into its owner’s graveyard instead of entering the battlefield. It never enters the battlefield, so abilities that would have triggered on it entering the battlefield won’t trigger. (2008-08-01)
  • In Two-Headed Giant, triggers only once per upkeep, not once for each player. (2006-05-01)
  • Land can’t enter the battlefield, so an effect that “puts a land onto the battlefield” won’t do anything, and the land will stay where it is. (2004-10-04)
  • If you cast a spell or activate an ability that lets you put a land onto the battlefield, the effect fails. You’ll still do everything else the spell or ability tells you to do, such as shuffle the library. (2004-10-04)