Counterlash {4}{U}{U}

Instant

Counter target spell. You may cast a nonland card in your hand that shares a card type with that spell without paying its mana cost.

“Pathetic. Let me show you how it’s done.”

Illustrated by Austin Hsu

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Counterlash:
  • You cast the card in your hand as part of the resolution of Counterlash. Timing restrictions based on the card’s type (such as creature or sorcery) are ignored. Other restrictions are not (such as “Cast [this card] only during combat”). (2011-01-22)
  • If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs. You can pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has mandatory additional costs, you must pay those. (2011-01-22)
  • If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as its value. (2011-01-22)