Loyal Cathar {W}{W}

Creature — Human Soldier

Vigilance

When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step.

“I trust myself to do my duty, even unto death. It’s what comes after that I’m afraid of.” —Constable Visil, to Thalia

2/2

Unhallowed Cathar

Color Indicator: Black Creature — Zombie Soldier

Unhallowed Cathar can’t block.

“Just fight without fear. Your soul is protected by the hand of Avacyn and will never submit to evil.” —Thalia, to Constable Visil

2/1

Illustrated by Ryan Pancoast

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Loyal Cathar // Unhallowed Cathar:
  • For more information on double-faced cards, see the Shadows over Innistrad mechanics article (link). (2016-07-13)
  • If a card that isn’t a double-faced card becomes a copy of Loyal Cathar (due to Cytoshape, for example) and then dies, that card won’t return to the battlefield. It will remain in its owner’s graveyard. (2016-04-08)
  • When Loyal Cathar dies, it will return to the battlefield with its back face (Unhallowed Cathar) up. It doesn’t return to the battlefield and then transform. (2011-01-22)
  • Another double-faced card that becomes a copy of Loyal Cathar and then dies will return to the battlefield with its back face up. (2011-01-22)
  • If you gain control of a Loyal Cathar owned by another player and it dies, it will be put into to its owner’s graveyard and then return to the battlefield under your control. (2011-01-22)