Lavinia of the Tenth {3}{W}{U}

Legendary Creature — Human Soldier

Protection from red

When Lavinia of the Tenth enters the battlefield, detain each nonland permanent your opponents control with converted mana cost 4 or less. (Until your next turn, those permanents can’t attack or block and their activated abilities can’t be activated.)

4/4

Watermark: Azorius

Illustrated by Willian Murai

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Lavinia of the Tenth:
  • Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent. (2013-04-15)
  • The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger. (2013-04-15)
  • If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it’s detained, it won’t be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block. (2013-04-15)
  • If a permanent’s activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected. (2013-04-15)
  • If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won’t be able to attack or block. (2013-04-15)
  • When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player’s next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely. (2013-04-15)
  • The converted mana cost of a creature token is 0 unless that token is a copy of another creature, in which case it copies that creature’s mana cost. (2013-04-15)
  • Lavinia’s ability doesn’t affect permanents an opponent gains control of after its enters-the-battlefield ability has resolved. Similarly, if you gain control of a detained permanent after that ability resolves, it will continue to be detained until your next turn. (2013-04-15)