Read the Bones {2}{B}

Sorcery

Scry 2, then draw two cards. You lose 2 life. (To scry 2, look at the top two cards of your library, then put any number of them on the bottom of your library and the rest on top in any order.)

The dead know lessons the living haven’t learned.

Illustrated by Lars Grant-West

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Read the Bones
  • The loss of life is part of the spell’s effect. It’s not an additional cost. If Read the Bones is countered, you won’t lose life. (2013-09-15)
  • When you scry, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards on the bottom of your library, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them on the bottom. (2013-09-15)
  • You choose how to order cards returned to your library after scrying no matter where you put them. (2013-09-15)
  • You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, that means you’ll scry last. For others, that means you’ll scry and then perform other actions. (2013-09-15)
  • Scry appears on some spells and abilities with one or more targets. If all of the spell or ability’s targets are illegal when it tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won’t scry. (2013-09-15)