Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker {4}{U}{B}{B}{R}

Legendary Planeswalker — Bolas

+3: Destroy target noncreature permanent.

−2: Gain control of target creature.

−9: Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker deals 7 damage to target player or planeswalker. That player or that planeswalker’s controller discards seven cards, then sacrifices seven permanents.

Loyalty: 5

Illustrated by Izzy

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker:
  • The control-change effect has no duration. It will last until the game ends or the affected creature leaves the battlefield. It may be superseded by a later control-change effect. (2009-02-01)
  • If the damage from Nicol Bolas’s third ability is prevented or redirected, the rest of the effect will still happen. Specifically, the number of cards discarded and permanents sacrificed isn’t tied to the amount of damage dealt. (2012-07-01)
  • For the third ability, if the player is an illegal target when the ability tries to resolve, the ability doesn’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. No damage will be dealt, no cards will be discarded, and no permanents will be sacrificed. (2012-07-01)