Phyrexian Totem {3}

Artifact

{T}: Add {B}.

{2}{B}: Phyrexian Totem becomes a 5/5 black Horror artifact creature with trample until end of turn.

Whenever Phyrexian Totem is dealt damage, if it’s a creature, sacrifice that many permanents.

Illustrated by John Zeleznik

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Phyrexian Totem:
  • A noncreature permanent that turns into a creature can attack, and its {T} abilities can be activated, only if its controller has continuously controlled that permanent since the beginning of their most recent turn. It doesn’t matter how long the permanent has been a creature. (2008-08-01)
  • When damage is dealt to Phyrexian Totem, its triggered ability will trigger. A number of permanents equal to the amount of damage dealt will be sacrificed when the ability resolves. It doesn’t matter if Phyrexian Totem isn’t on the battlefield when the ability resolves, as long as Phyrexian Totem was a creature as it left the battlefield. If one of the permanents sacrificed is Phyrexian Totem itself, the requisite number of other permanents must still be sacrificed. (2006-09-25)