Knights of the Black Rose {3}{W}{B}

Creature — Human Knight

When Knights of the Black Rose enters the battlefield, you become the monarch.

Whenever an opponent becomes the monarch, if you were the monarch as the turn began, that player loses 2 life and you gain 2 life.

“Hail to the true queen! Long may she reign!”

4/4

Illustrated by Mark Zug

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Knights of the Black Rose:
  • The last ability of Knights of the Black Rose will trigger even if the most recent monarch was another player, as long as you were monarch as the turn began. (2016-08-23)
  • The game starts with no monarch. Once an effect makes one player the monarch, the game will have exactly one monarch from that point forward. (2016-08-23)
  • Abilities that trigger whenever you “become the monarch” trigger only if you aren’t already the monarch. For example, if you are already the monarch as Custodi Lich enters the battlefield, its last ability won’t trigger. (2016-08-23)
  • If the triggered ability that causes the monarch to draw a card goes on the stack, and a different player becomes the monarch before that ability resolves, the first player will still draw the card. (2016-08-23)