Stranglehold {3}{R}

Enchantment

Your opponents can’t search libraries.

If an opponent would begin an extra turn, that player skips that turn instead.

The correct answer to a barbarian’s riddle is to choke on your cleverness and die.

Illustrated by John Stanko

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Stranglehold:
  • If an effect says “You may search your library . . . If you do, shuffle your library” or “You may search your library . . . then shuffle your library,” your opponents can’t choose to search, so they won’t shuffle. (2011-09-22)
  • If an effect says “Search your library . . . then shuffle your library,” your opponents shuffle their libraries even though they can’t search. (2011-09-22)
  • Effects that instruct your opponents to reveal or look at cards from the top of their libraries will still work. Only effects that use the word “search” are affected. (2011-09-22)
  • An “extra turn” means a turn created by a spell or ability. It doesn’t refer to a turn taken in a sanctioned tournament after the time limit for the round has expired. (2011-09-22)
  • If an opponent’s extra turn is created while Stranglehold is on the battlefield, but Stranglehold leaves the battlefield before that turn would begin, that opponent takes the extra turn as normal. (2011-09-22)