Meren of Clan Nel Toth (Commander Anthology #186)

Meren of Clan Nel Toth {2}{B}{G}

Legendary Creature — Human Shaman

Whenever another creature you control dies, you get an experience counter.

At the beginning of your end step, choose target creature card in your graveyard. If that card’s mana value is less than or equal to the number of experience counters you have, return it to the battlefield. Otherwise, put it into your hand.

3/4

Illustrated by Mark Winters

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Historic
Legacy
Brawl
Vintage
Timeless
Commander
Pauper
Oathbreaker
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Meren of Clan Nel Toth:
  • If Meren of Clan Nel Toth leaves the battlefield at the same time as other creatures you control die, its first ability will trigger for each of those creatures. (2015-11-04)
  • You can’t choose to put the creature card into your hand if its mana value is less than or equal to the number of experience counters you have as the ability resolves. (2015-11-04)
  • If a creature card in your graveyard has {X} in its mana cost, X is 0. (2015-11-04)
  • Experience counters are the second kind of counters a player can have, joining poison. (2015-11-04)
  • All experience counters are identical, no matter how you got them. For example, the last ability will count experience counters that you got from the first ability, from another ability, from proliferating, and so on. (2015-11-04)
  • Each game pack includes a card labeled “Experience” with the suggestion “Place your experience counters here.” This card isn’t required for play. It’s simply a convenient spot to put your experience counters, which can be represented with dice, glass beads, or other small items. (2015-11-04)