Shining Shoal {X}{W}{W}

Instant — Arcane

You may exile a white card with converted mana cost X from your hand rather than pay this spell’s mana cost.

The next X damage that a source of your choice would deal to you and/or creatures you control this turn is dealt to any target instead.

Illustrated by Ben Thompson

Duel Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Shining Shoal:
  • If the player or creature that was targeted is no longer playing or on the battlefield when the damage would occur, the damage isn’t redirected. (2005-02-01)
  • The redirection protects both you and your creatures from the source. If the source would deal more than X damage to multiple objects, you decide which damage is redirected until X is used up. For example, your opponent casts a spell that deals 1 damage to you and 1 damage to two of your creatures. If you cast Shining Shoal with X = 2, you can have damage to you and one creature redirected to the target, or you could have damage to both creatures redirected. (2005-02-01)