Umezawa's Jitte {2}

Legendary Artifact — Equipment

Whenever equipped creature deals combat damage, put two charge counters on Umezawa’s Jitte.

Remove a charge counter from Umezawa’s Jitte: Choose one —

• Equipped creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn.

• Target creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn.

• You gain 2 life.

Equip {2}

Illustrated by Christopher Moeller

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Banned
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Umezawa's Jitte:
  • Umezawa’s Jitte’s activated ability generates a modal choice. The choice is made when the ability is activated. (2005-02-01)
  • If the “target creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn” mode is chosen, the target creature must also be announced. (2005-02-01)
  • The ability can be used any time Umezawa’s Jitte’s controller has priority — only the “target creature” choice has additional requirements. Choosing the “Equipped creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn” mode does nothing if the Jitte isn’t equipped to a creature when the ability resolves. (2005-02-01)
  • If the Jitte is moved after the “+2/+2” mode is announced but before it resolves, the bonus is given to the creature that is equipped when the ability resolves. (2005-02-01)
  • If the Jitte leaves the battlefield after the “+2/+2” mode is announced but before it resolves, the bonus is given to the creature that was most recently equipped once the ability resolves. (2005-02-01)