The Dead Shall Serve

Scheme

When you set this scheme in motion, for each opponent, put up to one target creature card from that player’s graveyard onto the battlefield under your control. Each of those creatures attacks its owner each combat if able.

“Tell your old master I said hello.”

Illustrated by Jesper Ejsing

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for The Dead Shall Serve
  • For each opponent, you may choose not to target any creature cards in that player’s graveyard. (2010-06-15)
  • Each of the creatures you put onto the battlefield this way must attack its owner, not a planeswalker that player controls. (2010-06-15)
  • If, during your declare attackers step, one of these creatures is tapped or is affected by a spell or ability that says it can’t attack, then it doesn’t attack. If there’s a cost associated with having that creature attack, you aren’t forced to pay that cost, so it doesn’t have to attack in that case either. (2010-06-15)
  • If one of these creatures can’t attack its owner during any given turn (due to a spell or ability such as Chronomantic Escape, or because a player on the opposing team has gained control of it, for example), it may attack another player, attack a planeswalker an opponent controls, or not attack at all. If there’s a cost associated with having that creature attack its owner, you aren’t forced to pay that cost, so it may attack another player, attack a planeswalker an opponent controls, or not attack at all. (2010-06-15)
  • If there are multiple combat phases in a turn, each of these creatures must attack its owner in each of them that it’s able to. (2010-06-15)