Nature Demands an Offering

Scheme

When you set this scheme in motion, target opponent chooses a creature you don’t control and puts it on top of its owner’s library, then repeats this process for an artifact, an enchantment, and a land. Then the owner of each permanent chosen this way shuffles their library.

Illustrated by John Matson

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Nature Demands an Offering:
  • The targeted opponent may choose a creature they control, or may choose a creature one of your other opponents controls. The same is true for each of the other permanent types listed. (2010-06-15)
  • The four permanents are put on top of their owners’ libraries in sequence. That means that a single artifact creature, for example, can’t be chosen as both the creature and as the artifact. (2010-06-15)
  • If there are no applicable choices for one of the permanent types, it’s simply skipped. The process is still repeated for the other listed permanent types. (2010-06-15)
  • If a player owns multiple permanents chosen this way, that player shuffles their library just once. (2010-06-15)
  • The owner of a token permanent chosen this way still shuffles their library, even though the token ceases to exist. (2010-06-15)
  • If one of the chosen permanents is controlled by an opponent but owned by you, you’ll wind up shuffling your library. (2010-06-15)