Soul-Scar Mage {R}

Creature — Human Wizard

Prowess

If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to a creature an opponent controls, put that many -1/-1 counters on that creature instead.

1/2

Illustrated by Steve Argyle

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Soul-Scar Mage
  • If an effect causes a creature you control to fight a creature an opponent controls, the damage is dealt simultaneously. For instance, if your 2/2 creature fights an opponent’s 4/4 creature, your creature will be dealt 4 damage and your opponent’s creature will have two -1/-1 counters put on it. (2017-04-18)
  • If a spell or ability an opponent controls causes a source you control to deal noncombat damage to a creature an opponent controls, that damage will be replaced with -1/-1 counters. (2017-04-18)
  • Soul-Scar Mage’s effect isn’t a prevention effect. Damage that can’t be prevented will be replaced with -1/-1 counters. (2017-04-18)
  • If multiple prevention and/or replacement effects are trying to apply to the same damage, the controller of the creature that would be dealt damage chooses the order in which to apply them. As examples, an opponent could choose to apply the effect of Djeru’s Resolve and prevent the damage rather than put -1/-1 counters on it; or an opponent could choose to convert the damage to -1/-1 counters before Insult could double it, and then Insult’s effect won’t apply anymore. (2017-04-18)