Shriekmaw {4}{B}

Creature — Elemental

Fear (This creature can’t be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures.)

When Shriekmaw enters the battlefield, destroy target nonartifact, nonblack creature.

Evoke {1}{B} (You may cast this spell for its evoke cost. If you do, it’s sacrificed when it enters the battlefield.)

3/2

Illustrated by Steve Prescott

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Shriekmaw:
  • To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as an evoke cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The mana value of the spell is determined by only its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast that spell was. (2021-03-19)
  • If you pay the evoke cost, you can have Shriekmaw's own triggered ability resolve before the evoke triggered ability. You can cast spells after that ability resolves but before you have to sacrifice Shriekmaw. (2021-03-19)