Baral, Chief of Compliance {1}{U}

Legendary Creature — Human Wizard

Instant and sorcery spells you cast cost {1} less to cast.

Whenever a spell or ability you control counters a spell, you may draw a card. If you do, discard a card.

“The echo of silence is music to my ears.”

1/3

Illustrated by Wesley Burt

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Baral, Chief of Compliance
  • Baral’s first ability doesn’t affect the colored mana requirements of instant and sorcery spells. (2017-02-09)
  • If there are additional costs to cast a spell, such as a kicker cost or a cost imposed by another effect (such as Thalia, Guardian of Thraben’s ability, for example), apply those increases before applying cost reductions. (2017-02-09)
  • A spell or ability counters a spell only if it specifically contains the word “counter” in its text. If a spell or ability you control causes all the targets of a spell to become illegal, that spell is considered to be countered by the game rules, not by the spell or ability you control, and Baral’s ability won’t trigger. (2017-02-09)